logo logo

The Award Recipients and Finalists

The winners of the Passive House Award 2014 have again proved that world-class architecture and the Passive House Standard complement each other perfectly. An international jury made its selection from approximately hundred submissions. The award recipients in a total of six categories were announced on 25 April in Aachen, Germany, at the 2014 International Passive House Conference. In the following you’ll find an overview of all finalists. For more pictures and technical details on the projects please use the respective links to the Passive House Database.

Single-family homes

Apartment buildings

Educational buildings

Office and special use buildings


Region (through PassREg)


The 2014 Passive House Award, supported by the EU through the PassREg project and under the patronage of Sigmar Gabriel, German Federal Minister of Economic Affairs and Energy, is a celebration of architecture. The Award demonstrates the great potential and versatility offered by Passive House solutions. Press Release

Submission statistics

121 projects submitted, 92 eligible
46 projects from Germany and 46 non-German projects from a total of 21 countries
86 indiviual buildings, 6 regions and urban developments
76 new builds, 10 retrofits
15 apartment buildings
35 single family homes and terraced houses
12 educational facilities (schools and kindergardens)
24 office and special use buildings


Special thanks to our Platinum Sponsor


Award winners to be presented in the book Active for more comfort - the Passive House.